# Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament onwards

#### Home » Visit and Learn » MPs and parliaments, 1854 onwards » Milori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards

Get notifications

(New Zealand Parliament, 2023a)

(New Zealand Parliament,

2023a)

**Originally published:** 17 September 2018 **Last updated:** 1 December 2023

Please note, completeness can't be guaranteed as this list is compiled from publicly available sources where the individuals have voluntarily self-identified their ethnicity.

Prior to 1890 there were no political parties as such in Parliament.

You can find more detail on these MPs in the **Roll of members of the NZ House of Representatives**, **1854 wards** (https://www.parliament.nz/en/visit-and-learn/mps-and-parliaments-1854-onwards/roll-ofmembers-of-the-new-zealand-house-of-representatives-1854-onwards/).

#### 1868-1870: 4 Māori MPs out of 76 MPs

Mete Kingi te Rangi Paetahi	Western Māori
John Patterson	Southern Māori
Tareha Te Moananui	Eastern Māori
Frederick Nene Russell	Northern Māori

## ₩71-1875: 4 Māori MPs out of 78 MPs

Wiremu Parata	Western Māori
Hori Kerei Taiaroa	Southern Māori
Karaitiana Takamoana	Eastern Māori
Wiremu Katene	Northern Māori

#### 1876-1879: 4 Māori MPs out of 88 MPs

Hoani Nahe

Western Māori

Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards - New Zealand Parliament

		· · · · · ·	ι
 Marjorie Jill Pettis	Whanganui	Labour	
Winston Raymond Peters	Tauranga	NZ First	
Sandra Rose Lee	List	Alliance	
Donna Lynn Awatere Huata	List	ACT	
Joseph Parata Hohepa Hawke	List	Labour	
Manu Alamein Kopu	List	Alliance	
Nanaia Mahuta	List	Labour	
Ron Stanley Mark	List	NZ First	
Dover Spencer Peneha Samuels	List	Labour	
Georgina Manunui Te Heuheu	List	National	
Tariana Woon Turia	List	Labour	
Clem Rudolph Simich	Tamaki	National	

# 1999-2002: 17 Māori MPs out of 120 MPs

17 - 120 = 0.14

General Election on 27<sup>th</sup> November 1999

Dover Spencer Peneha Samuels	Te Tai Tokerau	Labour	)
John Tamihere	Hauraki	Labour	
Nanaia Mahuta	Te Tai Hauauru	Labour	
Mita Ririnui	Waiariki	Labour	
Parekura Tureia Horomia	Ikaroa-Rāwhiti	Labour	
Mahara Okeroa	Te Tai Tonga	Labour	
Marjorie Jill Pettis	Whanganui	Labour	

Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards - New Zealand Parliament

	Winston Raymond Peters	Tauranga	NZ First
	Georgina Beyer	Wairarapa	Labour
	Sandra Rose Lee	List	Alliance
	Donna Lynn Awatere Huata	List	ACT
	Joseph Parata Hohepa Hawke	List	Labour
	Ron Stanley Mark	List	NZ First
	Georgina Manunui Te Heuheu	List	National
	Tariana Woon Turia	List	Labour
(	Willie Jackson	List	Alliance
	Clem Rudolph Simich	Tamaki	National

### 2002-2003: 20 Māori MPs out of 120 MPs

General Election on 27<sup>th</sup> July 2002

	Dover Spencer Peneha Samuels	Te Tai Tokerau	Labour
	John Tamihere	Hauraki	Labour
(	- Nanaia Mahuta	Tainui	Labour
	Mita Ririnui	Waiariki	Labour
	Parekura Tureia Horomia	Ikaroa-Rāwhiti	Labour
	Mahara Okeroa	Te Tai Tonga	Labour
	Marjorie Jill Pettis	Whanganui	Labour
	Winston Raymond Peters	Tauranga	NZ First
	Georgina Beyer	Wairarapa	Labour

01/12/2023, 21:18		Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards - New Zealand Parliament	
1	Jenny Marcroft	List	NZ First
	Ron Mark	List	NZ First
	Tracey Martin	List	NZ First
,	Winston Peters	List	NZ First
,	Willow-Jean Prime	List	Labour
	Shane Reti	Whangarei	National
	Jami-Lee Ross	Botany	National
,	Adrian Rurawhe	Te Tai Hauāuru	Labour
(	David Seymour	Epsom	ACT
	Fletcher Tabuteau	List	NZ First
	Rino Tirikatene	Te Tai Tonga	Labour
	Louisa Wall	Manurewa	Labour
	Meka Whaitiri	Ikaroa-Rāwhiti	Labour

# 2020-2023 28 Māori MPs out of 120 MPs

Harete Hipango replaced Nick Smith on 11 June 2021.	007
${igcap}_{ m r}$ aya Peke-Mason replaced Trevor Mallard on 21 October 2022.	
Tama Potaka replaced Guarav Sharma on 10 December 2022.	

as at 2020, 25 Maori MPs out of 120 (20.84.)	
- Reference says 28 due to the three MPs to the left who replaced other MP. in 2021, and 2022	ž

Kiritapu Allan	East Coast	Labour Party
Simon Bridges	Tauranga	National Party
Karen Chhour	List	ACT New Zealand
Tamati Coffey	List	Labour Party
Marama Davidson	List	Green Party

 Kelvin Davis	- Te-Tai-Tokerau	Labour Party
Paul Eagle	Rongotai	Labour Party
Shanan Halbert	Northcote	Labour Party
Peeni Henare	Tāmaki Makaurau	Labour Party
Harete Hipango	List	National Party
Willie Jackson	List	Labour Party
Elizabeth Kerekere	List	Green Party
Jo Luxton	Rangitata	Labour Party
Nanaia Mahuta	Hauraki-Waikato	Labour Party
Nicole McKee	List	ACT New Zealand
Debbie Ngarewa-Packer	List	Māori Party
Soraya Peke-Mason	List	Labour Party
Tama Potaka	Hamilton West	National Party
Willow-Jean Prime	Northland	Labour Party
Shane Reti	List	National Party
Adrian Rurawhe	Te Tai Hauāuru	Labour Party
David Seymour	Epsom	ACT New Zealand
Rino Tirikatene	Te Tai Tonga	Labour Party
Teanau Tuiono	List	Green Party
Rawiri Waititi	Waiariki	Māori Party
Louisa Wall	List	Labour Party
Meka Whaitiri	lkaroa-Rāwhiti	Labour Party

Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards - New Zealand Parliament

	Debbie Ngarewa-Pack	List	Te Pāti Māori
	Tamatha Paul	Wellington Central	Green Party
	Winston Peters	List	NZ First Party
	Tama Potaka	Hamilton West	National Party
	Willow-Jean Prime	List	Labour Party
	Shane Reti	Whangārei	National Party
	Adrian Rurawhe	List	Labour Party
	David Seymour	Epsom	ACT New Zealand
	Darleen Tana	List	Green Party
	Cushla Tangaere-Manuel	Ikaroa-Rāwhiti	Labour Party
	Rino Tirikatene	List	Labour Party
	Teanau Tuiono	List	Green Party
	Rawiri Waititi	Waiariki	Te Pāti Māori
	Arena Williams	Manurewa	Labour Party

Nicole McKee

Jenny Marcroft

James Meager

Māori MPs in the New Zealand Parliament, 1868 onwards - New Zealand Parliament

Arena Williams

Manurewa

Labour Party ...

#### 2023- 33 Māori MPs out of 122 MPs +1

$\frac{33}{123} = 27$					
Dan Bidois	Northcote	National Party			
Kahurangi Carter	List	Green Party			
Karen Chhour	List	ACT New Zealand			
Casey Costello	List	NZ First Party			
Marama Davidson	List	Green Party			
Kelvin Davis	List	Labour Party			
Tākuta Ferris	Te Tai Tonga	Te Pāti Māori			
Peeni Henare	List	Labour Party			
Willie Jackson	List	Labour Party			
Shane Jones	List	NZ First Party			
Mariameno Kapa-Kingi	Te Tai Tokerau	Te Pāti Māori			
Takutai Kemp	Tāmaki Makaurau	Te Pāti Māori			
Jo Luxton	List	Labour Party	C		
Hūhana Lyndon	List	Green Party			
Hana-Rawhiti Maipi-Clarke	Hauraki-Waikato	Te Pāti Māori			
David MacLeod	New Plymouth	National Party			

ACT New Zealand

NZ First Party

National Party

Rangitata

List

List