24/08/2023, 10:35

National Public Health Service - Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand



On this page

Te Whatu Ora – Health NZ, 2023c)

- ↓ Statutory Officers
- V Regional Public Health Services

The new National Public Health Service brings together functions from Te Hiringa Hauora, the Ministry of Health, and public health units into a unified operational service. It works towards pae ora (healthy futures) by engaging with the wider determinants that impact on people's health, focusing on oranga/wellbeing, prevention, protection and populationlevel intervention.

The National Public Health Service partners with Te Aka Whai Ora – the Māori Health Authority and Te Pou Hauora Tūmatanui – the Public Health Agency to work alongside whānau, communities, and other sectors; drawing on Mātauranga Māori and data to provide health promotion, prevention, and health protection at local, regional, and national levels. People in public health focus on environmental health, communicable disease control, tobacco control and health promotion programmes. Many of these services include a regulatory component performed by statutory officers appointed under various statutes, though principally under the Health Act 1956.

Statutory Officers

Most statutory officers are designated by the Director-General of Health under the Health Act 1956. These officers – medical officers of health and health protection officers – are accountable to, and subject to direction from, the Director-General. This ensures central oversight of regulatory functions.

The Director-General also appoints statutory officers under a range of other Acts, in particular the Smoke-free Environments Act 1990, the Tuberculosis Act 1948, and the Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Act 1996. City and district councils also appoint environmental health officers under the Health Act, who assist councils to perform their environmental health functions under the Act.

Regional Public Health Services

P Northern

- Ngā Tai Ora Public Health Northland
 Districts covered: Northland
- Auckland Regional Public Health Service
 Districts covered: Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland

Te Manawa Taki

https://www.tewhatuora.govt.nz/our-health-system/health-sector-organisations/national-public-health-service

- Waikato Public Health
 Districts covered: Waikato, Ruapehu (Northern part)
- Toi Te Ora Public Health
 Districts covered: Whakatāne, Tauranga, Rotorua and Taupō
- Taranaki Public Health
 Districts covered: Taranaki
- Hauora Tairāwhiti
 Districts covered: Gisborne/Tairāwhiti

Central

- Hawke's Bay Public Health
 Districts covered: Hawke's Bay
- MidCentral Public Health
 Districts covered: Manawatū, Whanganui, Ruapehu (Southern part)
- Regional Public Health
 Districts covered: Wellington, Hutt Valley, Wairarapa

Te Waipounamu

- Nelson Marlborough Public Health Service
 Districts covered: Nelson-Marlborough
- Community and Public Health
 Districts covered: Canterbury, Mid Canterbury, South Canterbury, West
 Coast and Chatham Islands
- Public Health South
 Districts covered: Otago, Southland

Also in this section

National Public Health Service

Public Health Contacts

Non-governmental organisations

Related content

Our local health websites

Find your local Te Whatu Ora website to understand what services are available to you and your whānau closest to home.

Public Health Contacts

Contact details for regional organisations working in public health.

 \rightarrow

Last updated: 10 July 2023



About us

 \rightarrow

Who we are

Jobs

Media centre

Contact us

Official Information Act requests