(Pollock, K., 2019) [Governance Boundaries]

Story: Public health

## Public health units



Regional public health services are delivered by 12 public health units (PHUs), which were owned by district health boards until these were replaced by Te Whatu Ora Health New Zealand and Te Aka Whai Ora Māori Health Authority in 2022. Non-governmental organisations also deliver some of these services. PHUs concentrate on major public-health services, such as tobacco control and health promotion. This map shows the boundaries of each PHU in 2011.

## Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand



This item is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 New Zealand Licence

Source: Ministry of Health

## How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Public health - What is public health?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/en/map/31357/public-health-units (accessed 24 August 2023)
Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 7 Jul 2019 with assistance from Richard Edwards