(New Zealand Parliament, n.d.) [political parties]

Parliamentary parties

Home » MPs and Electorates » Parliamentary parties

There are five parliamentary parties in the 53rd Parliament. These are the Act Party, Green Party, Labour Party, National Party and Te Paati Māori.







Labour Party

The New Zealand Labour Party (Labour Party) has 64 members of Parliament, 19 elected from the party list and 45 electorate seats.

Green Party

The Green Party of Aotearoa / New Zealand (Green Party) has 10 members of Parliament, 9 from the party list and one electorate seat.

National Party

The New Zealand National Party (National Party) has 34 members of Parliament, 10 elected from the party list and 24 from electorate seats. The National Party is in Opposition.

Read more





ACT Party

The ACT Party has 10 members of Parliament, 9 from the party list and one electorate seat.

Read more

Te Paati Māori

Te Paati Māori has 2 members of Parliament, 1 from the party list and 1 electorate seat. Read more